Banking 2

BANKING

The Swiss financial centre with its banks as a leading sector is internationally of great importance. The Swiss financial institutions are some of the global market leaders in many areas. The banking industry contributes an essential part to the value creation and therefore to the wealth in Switzerland.

YOUR CONTACT PERSON

Dr. Thomas Vettiger
Managing Partner
thomas.vettiger@ifbc.ch

CURRENT TOPICS & CHALLENGES

Digital Payments Providers Under Pressure

Mounting consumer pressure for faster, seamless, cheaper and more secure digital payments accelerate the market consolidation. The latest development is the global fund Hellmann & Friedmann, which is fronting an investor group, bidding to acquire the Nordic payment system provider NETS for $5.1bn to extend in the area of e-commerce.

Banks Continue to Embrace Cloud & AI Tech

Banks are exploring opportunities for IT to increase their range of services and value proposition. M&A opportunities may arise for smaller IT companies that develop FinTech solutions that can be „plugged in“ to larger corporates.

Largest Russian Institution Under watch

Russia’s Central Bank announced the launch of a financial rehabilitaion program for Otkritie Group, the country’s largest private financial institution. According to Russian monetary authority, Otkritie requires a significant capital increase (up to 75%) and extensive measures to improve its financial health.

Blockchain in Focus, but Uncertainty Lingers

Central banks and governments continue to voice their views on Bitcoin and other cryptocurrencies, which has resulted in prices becoming even more volatile than usual. For example, the recent ban imposed by Chinese authorities on inital coin offerings led to a dramatic drop in Bitcoin prices.

NOTABLE RECENT TRANSACTIONS

Canaccord Genuity Acquires Hargreave Hale

Canadian wealth manager Canaccord Genuity has acquired UK based wealth manager Hargreave Hake for circa £80m. The Hargreave Hale business will be merged with Canaccord’s existing UK wealth management business.

Canada’s CIBS Acquires $5bn PrivateBancorp

Canadian Imperial Bank of Commerce has completed the $5bn acquisition of Chicago-based PrivateBancorp. According to CIBC CEO Victor Dodig, the deal has been almost three years in the making.

Macquarie Acquires Green Investment Bank

Macquire Group acquired the UK Government’s Green Investment Bank for £2.3bn. The Green investment Bank provides banking and lending services to eco-friendly projects.

M&A TRENDS AND MARKET ANALYSIS

The following analysis are limited to the Swiss Banking and are disclosed separately for the Swiss private and retail banks. Based on valuation multiples, valuation trends over the last five years were analyzed.

M/B-ratio in Swiss Banking

Listed Swiss Retail Banks
Listed Swiss Private Banks

  • The M/B-ratio of listed Swiss retails banks equals 0.9 at the end of 2016 and is below 1.0 since 2013.
  • On the other side, the M/B-ratio of listed Swiss private banks is above 1.0 since the end of 2015 and thus above the level of Swiss retail banks.

P/E-ratio in Swiss Banking

Listed Swiss Retail Banks
Listed Swiss Private Banks

  • The P/E-ratio of listed Swiss retail banks had no significant fluctuations over the time and is close to 15 at the end of 2016.
  • The P/E-ratio of Swiss private banks increased sharply to more than 25 and decreased substantially at the end of 2016 to a comparable level with the Swiss retail banks.

Branchen – Banking 2

BANKING

Der Finanzplatz Schweiz mit den Banken als führendem Sektor hat international einen hohen Stellenwert. Die Schweizer Finanzinstitute gehören in vielen Bereichen zu den Weltmarktführern. Der Bankensektor trägt einen wesentlichen Anteil zur Wertschöpfung und damit zum Wohlstand in der Schweiz bei.

IHR ANSPRECHPARTNER

Dr. Thomas Vettiger
Managing Partner
thomas.vettiger@ifbc.ch

AKTUELLE THEMEN & HERAUSFORDERUNGEN

Hoher Druck für Digital Payment Provider

Der steigende Druck zu schnelleren, direkteren und sichereren digitalen Zahlungsmöglichkeiten beschleunigt die Marktkonsolidierung. Als aktuelles Beispiel kann Hellmann & Friedmann aufgeführt werden, die USD 5.1 Mrd. für die Zahlungsplattform NETS bietet, um im Bereich e-commerce zu expandieren.

AI & Cloud Technologien in Banken

Um die eigene Angebots- und Leistungsbreite erweitern zu können, positionieren sich Banken vermehrt im IT-Bereich. Entsprechend bieten sich diverse M&A-Möglichkeiten (bspw. im Zusammenhang mit der Eingliederung von FinTech-Lösungen) an.

Grösste russische Privatbank unter Beobachtung

Die russische Zentralbank hat die Etablierung eines financial rehabilitation Programms für die Otkritie Gruppe, die national grösste Privatbank, angekündigt. Ihr zufolge benötigt Okritie bis zu 75% mehr Eigenmittel, gepaart mit weiteren kapitalstärkenden Massnahmen.

Fokus auf Blockchain bei bleibender Unsicherheit

Der Umgang mit Kryptowährungen differiert unter den Zentralbanken und Regierungen nach wie vor erheblich, was volatile Preisentwicklungen nach sich zieht. So führte bspw. das Verbot in China für Coins-Erstangebote zu einem dramatischen Fall der Bitcoin-Preise.

AKTUELLE TRANSAKTIONEN

Canaccord Genuity akquiriert
Hargreave Hale

Die kanadische Vermögensverwaltung Canaccord Genuity hat die britische Hargreave Hale für rund £80 Mio. akquiriert. Hargreave Hale soll mit dem bereits existierenden britischen Zweig der Canaccord zusammengeführt werden.

Kanadas CIBC kauft PrivateBancorp
für USD 5 Mrd.

Die Canadian Imperial Bank of Commerce (CIBC) hat den Kauf der PrivateBoancorp in der Höhe von USD 5 Mrd. aus Chicago abgeschlossen. Gemäss CIBC CEO Victor Dodig dauerte die Transaktion rund drei Jahre.

Macquarie akquiriert die
GreenInvestment Bank

Die Macquarie Gruppe hat mit Unterstützung durch Universities Superannuation Scheme (USS) für GBP 2.3 Mrd. die staatliche Green Investment Bank gekauft. Die Green Investment Bank bietet Bank- und Kreditdienstleistungen für umweltfreundliche Projekte.

M&A TRENDS UND MARKTANALYSEN

Die nachfolgenden Analysen beschränken sich auf das Schweizer Banking und werden gesondert für die Schweizer Privat- und Retailbanken ausgewiesen. Dabei wurden Bewertungstrends anhand von Valuation Multpiles für die vergangenen fünf Jahre analysiert (Quelle: Bloomberg).

M/B-Ratio im Swiss Banking

Listed Swiss Retail Banks
Listed Swiss Private Banks

  • Die M/B-Ratio der kotierten Schweizer Retailbanken befindet sich per Ende 2016 bei knapp 0.9 und seit 2013 stets unter 1.0.
  • Demgegenüber befindet sich die M/B-Ratio der kotierten Schweizer Privatbanken seit Ende 2015 auf einem Wert von über 1.0 und damit über demjenigen der Schweizer Retailbanken.

P/E-Ratio im Swiss Banking

Listed Swiss Retail Banks
Listed Swiss Private Banks

  • Die P/E-Ratio der kotierten Schweizer Retailbanken unterlag im Zeitverlauf keinen grösseren Schwankungen und liegt per Ende 2016 bei knapp 15.
  • Die P/E-Ratio der kotierten Schweizer Privatbanken stieg bis Ende 2015 auf deutlich über 25 und reduzierte sich 2016 substantiell auf ein im Vergleich zu den Schweizer Retailbanken ähnliches Niveau.