PERFORMANCE MANAGEMENT

Performance management has to be aligned with the company’s specific business model in order to create a basis for successful implementation of the company’s strategy and development. Current trends indicate that rigid, resource-intensive planning and reporting processes are replaced by flexible, efficient and forward-looking approaches.

Based on the current trends and our many years of experience in corporate finance management, we put our understanding into practice through effective performance management based on 6 principles. These principles provide a basis for assessing a company’s existing approaches and for identifying potential improvements.

Put strategy first and set cascaded targets

The applicable strategy and long-term financial goals are put into practice through strategic initiatives. Systematic operationalisation is ensured through proper cascading of targets based on financial and operational value drivers. In the course of performance management, systematic reviews are conducted to ensure that the strategic initiatives are performed and that the targets are achieved, ensuring a perfect correlation between performance management and strategy. Operational Management is familiar with the specified management indicators and knows the main influencing factors.

Implement a dynamic & efficient planning

Budgeting and forecasting processes are harmonised and formulated in the form of rolling or partially-rolling forecasts in accordance with business model. In planning, the focus is placed on the key value drivers. For optimal efficiency and flexibility, as many planning elements as possible are standardised and automated. By using scenarios, future developments can be simulated transparently as a basis for corporate finance management.

Check planning incentives

The goal of planning is to enable a realistic estimate of future developments. In general, Management should not have any incentives to over- or underestimate future performance. This means, in particular, that the performance assessment should not be based on meeting a budget or a forecast but rather on the most objective possible benchmarks and on improvements relative to the prior period.

Be focused and fast in monitoring your core business – assess & act

The management reports are designed for the relevant target group with a focus on key management information. Besides the analysis of financial and operational value drivers and competitive and market trends, a status update on the strategic initiatives and specified measures forms an integral part of the monitoring. Management reporting is the key management tool, providing meaningful information about both current financial and operational performance and future developments. The reporting processes are efficient and automated whenever possible so that the relevant management information is available to the decision makers in a timely and consistent manner.

Integrate your investment process

Investment projects are evaluated and approved based on a standardised, clearly structured process. Rigid investment budgets are made more flexible to enable seizing profitable opportunities in line with the company’s strategy. Standardised instruments and reports are used to evaluate and implement investments. Setting up investment monitoring helps promote successful implementation of investment projects and improved evaluations of future investments.

Implement lean processes and use technology as enabler

All the components of performance management are coordinated, optimally organised and integrated into an overall process. The system landscape is distinguished by a high degree of uniformity, data consistency and few interfaces. An integrated, driver-based and flexible system solution enables an optimal degree of information value and efficiency in planning. Intensive automation of the reporting processes ensures that the resources will be available for use in problem analysis, in particular.

Financial policy essentially includes the basic principles of liquidity, capital structure, investment and risk policy. Our specialists can assist with evaluating your existing financial policy and help you formulate a new one, if necessary. Our holistic, company-specific description of each subject area of your financial policy will give your business a solid foundation for financial leadership and effective performance management.

More and more companies are realizing that it is necessary to reassess their well-accustomed, but inefficient planning processes. To do so, it is necessary to break down the usual ways of thinking concerning conventional budgeting. An innovative, needs-based solution is an essential contribution to long-term successful corporate development. We help our customers with the following topics, in particular:

Developing a model of value drivers and defining Key Performance Indicators (KPIs)

Developing a company-specific model of value drivers will help you identify operational and financial drivers that are decisive for successful implementation of your strategy. The Key Performance Indicators defined on the basis of that model can then be used to bring your planning and financial management into line. Focussing on the key KPIs is an important prerequisite for setting up efficient and well-targeted planning processes.

Establishing an effective target-defining process

The financial targets derived from the strategy are formulated concretely in a mid-term plan according to top-down approach and subdivided into the specified Key Performance Indicators. The central focus is on optimally efficient and complete strategy operationalisation through appropriate target cascading as a basis for operational planning.

Developing a company-specific planning philosophy

Budgeting and forecasting processes should be harmonised and brought into line with the specific business model and management culture in the form of rolling or partially rolling forecasts. Focusing on key value drivers lets you organise forecasts efficiently and flexibly. Forecasts should be decoupled from the management incentive system so that the most realistic possible forecasts can be used for effective corporate management. Forecasts should not be set up to monitor Management but rather as a management instrument to help implement the strategy.

Implementation of the specified planning philosophy

As part of the implementation of the company-specific planning, standardised workflows and processes should be established. In that context, it is important to make sure that the periodic business reviews are coordinated with the planning cycles in the operational units. Based on optimal process designing, dynamic yet efficient forecasting can be implemented with reasonably detailed planning (focus on key value drivers) and an integrated system solution. By using driver-based planning software, the impact of the generally unclear market environment can be mapped and analysed transparently in the forecast based on scenarios and sensitivities.

The information value of reporting has a significant impact on the quality of strategic and operational corporate management and is a key factor in internal and external corporate communications. In our experience, reporting is often insufficiently focused on financial value drivers and therefore much too extensive, which makes it ineffective for corporate finance management. We also believe it is essential to supplement reporting of current financial and operational performance by making forward-looking management information an integral part of reporting. We help our customers with the following topics, in particular:

Review of the existing reporting

Effective management reporting should be tailored to the strategic goals and key value drivers and addressed to the appropriate level. Reporting should go beyond displaying the figures and give in-depth analyses of current and future developments. The goal of each report is to give recipients an optimal basis for decision-making, which is a prerequisite for introducing concrete measures for purposes of implementing the strategy. Thanks to innovative display options, information can be tailored to the proper level and communicated in a standardised and understandable manner. Efficient processes and system solutions ensure that decision-makers will receive consistent and timely management information. These main principles of effective reporting for the basis of assessing existing reporting solutions and identifying potential improvements.

Developing reports tailored to the target group

Based on our analysis of your existing reporting solutions, the potential improvements identified can be systematically implemented in the areas of content (relevant management information), layout/design (information displayed intuitively and tailored to the target group), processes (efficient automated workflows) and systems (consistent and timely data processing using the latest system solutions). One of the main keys to success is to make sure that the reporting processes are aligned with the forecasting processes and with the periodic business reviews carried out in cooperation with the operational units.

Optimal capital allocation for implementation of the strategy is one of the main keys to success in performance management. In particular, we help our customers set up a comprehensive process to evaluate investments, develop and use standardised analytic tools and ensure effective investment monitoring.

Setting up a comprehensive process to evaluate investments

Both expenditures on capital goods (CAPEX) and any mergers and acquisitions (M&A) should be evaluated and approved on the basis of clearly defined processes. Standardised workflows and responsibilities and competencies ensure efficient and well-targeted evaluation of investments.

Developing standardised analytic tools

Developing and setting up standardised analytic tools facilitates efficient and well-founded evaluation of investment projects. In particular, decision-makers are provided with standardised investment proposals summarising company-specific profitability analyses, opportunity and risk analyses, scenario and sensitivity analyses as well as the essential milestones of implementation.

5.3 Ensuring effective investment monitoring

Setting up investment monitoring provides Management with a tool allowing prompt responses to any cost overruns, market changes and, in general, to any problems encountered when implementing an investment project. In addition, one of the main objectives of investment monitoring is to gain knowledge to improve the analysis and evaluation of future investment projects.

YOUR CONTACT PERSON

Dr. Thomas Vettiger, Managing Partner

thomas.vettiger@ifbc.ch

Christian Hirzel, Partner

christian.hirzel@ifbc.ch

OUR PROJECTS

CURRENT TOPICS

PERFORMANCE MANAGEMENT

Das Performance Management gilt es auf das spezifische Geschäftsmodell eines Unternehmens auszurichten, um die Grundlage für eine erfolgreiche Strategieumsetzung und Unternehmensentwicklung zu schaffen. Aktuelle Trends zeigen, dass starre, ressourcenintensive Planungs- und Reportingprozesse durch flexible, effiziente und zukunftsgerichtete Ansätze abgelöst werden.

Basierend auf den aktuellen Trends und unserer langjährigen Erfahrung im Bereich der finanziellen Unternehmensführung haben wir unser Verständnis zu einem wirkungsvollen Performance Management anhand 6 Principles konkretisiert. Diese Principles dienen als Grundlage, um bestehende Ansätze bei Unternehmen zu beurteilen und Verbesserungspotentiale zu identifizieren.

Put strategy first and set cascaded targets

Die geltende Strategie sowie die langfristigen finanziellen Zielsetzungen werden mittels strategischer Initiativen konkretisiert. Durch eine adäquate Zielkaskadierung auf finanzielle und operative Werttreiber wird eine konsequente Operationalisierung sichergestellt. Die Umsetzung strategischer Initiativen sowie die Zielerreichung werden im Rahmen des Performance Managements systematisch überprüft, was eine durchgängige Verknüpfung zwischen Strategie und Performance Management sicherstellt. Das operative Management ist mit den definierten Führungskennzahlen vertraut und kennt die wesentlichen Einflussfaktoren.

Implement a dynamic & efficient planning

Budget- und Forecastingprozesse werden harmonisiert und als rollierende oder teilrollierende Forecasts passend zum Geschäftsmodell zusammengefasst. In den Planungen wird der Fokus auf die wesentlichen Werttreiber gelegt. Im Sinne einer optimalen Effizienz und Flexibilität werden möglichst viele Elemente der Planung standardisiert und automatisiert. Mittels Szenarien können zukünftige Entwicklungen als Grundlage für die finanzielle Unternehmenssteuerung transparent simuliert werden.

Check planning incentives

Das Ziel der Planung ist eine realistische Einschätzung der zukünftigen Entwicklungen. Das Management sollte grundsätzlich keine Anreize haben, zukünftige Ergebnisse zu über- oder zu unterschätzen. Dies setzt insbesondere voraus, dass die Leistungsbeurteilung nicht auf dem Erreichen eines Budgets oder eines Forecasts basiert, sondern auf möglichst objektiven Benchmarks sowie auf der Verbesserung zur Vorperiode.

Be focused and fast in monitoring your core business – assess & act

Die Management Reportings sind stufengerecht gestaltet mit Fokus auf die wesentlichen Führungsinformationen. Neben der Analyse finanzieller und operativer Werttreiber sowie der Markt- und Konkurrenzentwicklung ist ein Status-Update zu den strategischen Initiativen und den definierten Massnahmen ein integrierter Bestandteil des Monitorings. Das Management Reporting ist das zentrale Führungsinstrument mit Aussagen sowohl zur aktuellen finanziellen und operativen Performance als auch zu zukünftigen Entwicklungen. Die Reportingprozesse sind effizient und möglichst automatisiert, damit den Entscheidungsträgern die relevanten Führungsinformationen zeitnah und in konsistenter Form zur Verfügung stehen.

Integrate your investment process

Investitionsprojekte werden anhand eines standardisierten, klar strukturierten Prozesses beurteilt und bewilligt. Starre Investitionsbudgets werden flexibilisiert, damit wertschaffende und strategiekonforme Opportunitäten wahrgenommen werden können. Im Rahmen der Investitionsbeurteilung und -umsetzung gelangen standardisierte Instrumente und Auswertungen zur Anwendung. Die Etablierung eines Investitions-Controllings unterstützt die erfolgreiche Realisierung von Investitionsprojekten und verbessert zukünftige Investitionsbeurteilungen.

Implement lean processes and use technology as enabler

Alle Teilelemente des Performance Managements sind aufeinander abgestimmt, möglichst effizient ausgestaltet und in einen Gesamtprozess integriert. Die Systemlandschaft zeichnet sich durch eine hohe Homogenität, Datenkonsistenz und wenige Schnittstellen aus. Eine integrierte, treiberbasierte und flexible Systemlösung ermöglicht einen optimalen Grad an Aussagekraft und Effizienz in der Planung. Ein hoher Automatisierungsgrad der Reportingprozesse stellt sicher, dass die Ressourcen insbesondere zur Problemanalyse eingesetzt werden können.

Die Finanzpolitik umfasst im Wesentlichen die Grundsätze der finanziellen Führung sowie die Bereiche Liquiditäts-, Kapitalstruktur-, Investitions- und Risikopolitik. Unsere Fachspezialisten bieten Unterstützung bei der Beurteilung einer bestehenden Policy oder unterstützen bei der Formulierung einer neuen Finanzpolitik. Mit der ganzheitlichen und firmenspezifischen Darstellung der Teilbereiche der Finanzpolitik wird die Grundlage für die finanzielle Führung und ein wirkungsvolles Performance Management im Unternehmen gelegt.

Immer mehr Unternehmen sind sich bewusst, dass eingespielte aber ineffiziente Planungsprozesse zu überdenken sind. Dabei müssen gewohnte Denkmuster bzgl. der klassischen Budgetierung aufgebrochen werden. Eine innovative, bedürfnisgerechte Lösung leistet einen wesentlichen Beitrag zu einer nachhaltig erfolgreichen Unternehmensentwicklung. Wir unterstützen unsere Kunden insbesondere bei folgenden Themen:

Entwicklung Werttreibermodell und Definition Key Performance Indicators (KPI’s)

Mit der Entwicklung eines firmenspezifischen Werttreibermodells werden die operativen und finanziellen Treiber identifiziert, welche für die erfolgreiche Strategieumsetzung massgebend sind. Darauf basierend sind Key Performance Indicators zu definieren, auf welche die Planung sowie die finanzielle Steuerung ausgerichtet wird. Die Fokussierung auf die wesentlichen KPI‘s ist eine wichtige Voraussetzung zur Etablierung effizienter und zielgerichteter Planungsprozesse.

Etablierung eines wirkungsvollen Zielsetzungsprozesses

Die aus der Strategie abgeleiteten finanziellen Zielsetzungen werden Top-down in einer Mittelfristplanung konkretisiert und auf die definierten Key Performance Indicators heruntergebrochen. Im Zentrum steht dabei eine möglichst effiziente und durchgängige Operationalisierung der Strategie mittels einer angemessenen Zielsetzungskaskade als Grundlage für die operative Planung.

Entwicklung einer firmenspezifischen Planungsphilosophie

Budget- und Forecastingprozesse sind zu harmonisieren und als rollierende oder teilrollierende Forecasts auf das spezifische Geschäftsmodell sowie die Führungskultur auszurichten. Durch den Fokus auf die wesentlichen Werttreiber können die Forecasts effizient und flexibel ausgestaltet werden. Die Forecasts sollten von der Incentivierung des Managements entkoppelt werden, damit möglichst realistische Zukunftseinschätzungen für eine wirkungsvolle Unternehmenssteuerung genutzt werden können. Forecasts sind nicht zur Kontrolle des Managements, sondern als Führungsinstrument im Sinne der Strategieumsetzung zu etablieren.

Umsetzung der definierten Planungsphilosophie

Im Rahmen der Umsetzung der firmenspezifischen Planung sind standardisierte Abläufe und Prozesse zu etablieren. In diesem Zusammenhang ist es wichtig, dass die periodischen Business Reviews mit den operativen Einheiten auf die Planungszyklen abgestimmt werden. Basierend auf einer optimalen Prozessausgestaltung kann mit einer angemessenen Planungsgranularität (Fokus auf die wesentlichen Werttreiber) und einer integrierten Systemlösung ein dynamisches und dennoch effizientes Forecasting implementiert werden. Mit Hilfe einer treiberbasierten Planungssoftware lässt sich der Einfluss des meist unsicheren Marktumfelds mittels Szenarien und Sensitivitäten transparent im Forecast darstellen und analysieren.

Die Aussagekraft des Reportings hat einen wesentlichen Einfluss auf die Qualität der strategischen und operativen Unternehmensführung und stellt einen wichtigen Eckpfeiler der internen und externen Unternehmenskommunikation dar. Unsere Erfahrungen zeigen, dass das Reporting oft nur unzureichend auf die finanziellen Werttreiber ausgerichtet und damit viel zu umfassend und folglich für die finanzielle Unternehmensführung zu wenig effektiv ist. Zudem erachten wir es als zentral, dass in Ergänzung zur Berichterstattung der aktuellen finanziellen und operativen Performance zukunftsgerichtete Führungsinformationen als wesentlichen Bestandteil im Reporting etabliert werden. Wir unterstützen unsere Kunden insbesondere bei folgenden Themen:

Überprüfung bestehendes Reporting

Ein wirkungsvolles Management Reporting ist auf die strategischen Ziele auszurichten und auf die wesentlichen Werttreiber stufengerecht zu fokussieren. Das Reporting sollte über die Darstellung von Zahlen hinausgehen und vertiefte Analysen zur aktuellen und künftigen Entwicklung aufzeigen. Ziel jedes Reportings ist es, den Empfängern optimale Entscheidungsgrundlagen zur Verfügung zu stellen, was erst die Einleitung konkreter Massnahmen im Sinne der Strategieumsetzung erlaubt. Mit Hilfe innovativer Darstellungsmöglichkeiten werden Informationen stufengerecht, einheitlich und verständlich vermittelt. Effiziente Prozesse und Systemlösungen stellen sicher, dass die Entscheidungsträger zeitnah konsistente Führungsinformationen erhalten. Diese wesentlichen Grundsätze eines wirkungsvollen Reportings bilden die Basis, bestehende Reporting-Lösungen zu beurteilten und Optimierungspotentiale zu identifizieren.

Entwicklung stufengerechtes Reporting

Basierend auf der Analyse bestehender Reporting-Lösungen sind die identifizierten Optimierungspotentiale in den Bereichen Inhalt (relevante Führungsinformationen), Layout/Design (intuitive und stufengerechte Darstellung der Informationen), Prozesse (effiziente und automatisierte Abläufe) und Systeme (konsistente und zeitnahe Datenverarbeitung mit Hilfe moderner Systemlösungen) konsequent umzusetzen. Ein wesentlicher Erfolgsfaktor bildet dabei die Abstimmung der Reportingprozesse mit den Forecastingprozessen und den periodischen Business Reviews mit den operativen Einheiten.

Die optimale Kapitalallokation im Sinne der Strategieumsetzung ist ein wesentlicher Erfolgsfaktor im Bereich des Performance Managements. Dabei unterstützen wir unsere Kunden insbesondere bei der Etablierung eines durchgängigen Prozesses zur Beurteilung von Investitionen, bei der Entwicklung und Anwendung standardisierter Analyse-Instrumente sowie bei der Sicherstellung eines wirkungsvollen Investitions-Controllings.

Etablierung eines durchgängigen Prozesses zur Beurteilung von Investitionen

Sowohl Investitionen ins Anlagevermögen (CAPEX) als auch allfällige Akquisitionen (M&A) sind anhand klar definierter Prozesse zu beurteilen und zu genehmigen. Standardisierte Abläufe sowie etablierte Verantwortlichkeiten und Kompetenzen stellen eine effiziente und zielgerichtete Investitionsbeurteilung sicher.

Entwicklung standardisierter Analyse-Instrumente

Die Entwicklung und Etablierung standardisierter Analyse-Instrumente unterstützt eine effiziente und fundierte Beurteilung der Investitionsvorhaben. Dabei werden insbesondere unternehmensspezifische Wirtschaftlichkeitsanalysen, Chancen-/ Risikoanalysen, Szenario- und Sensitivitätsanalysen sowie wesentliche Meilensteine der Umsetzung in standardisierten Investitionsanträgen zuhanden der Entscheidungsträger zusammengefasst.

Sicherstellung eines wirkungsvollen Investitions-Controllings

Mit der Etablierung eines Investitions-Controllings verfügt das Management über ein Instrument, zeitnah auf Kostenüberschreitungen, Marktveränderungen und generell auf Probleme bei der Umsetzung eines Investitionsprojekts reagieren zu können. Zusätzlich liegt eine wesentliche Zielsetzung des Investitions-Controllings in der Gewinnung von Erkenntnissen zur Verbesserung der Analyse und Beurteilung zukünftiger Investitionsprojekte.

IHRE ANSPRECHPARTNER

Dr. Thomas Vettiger, Managing Partner

thomas.vettiger@ifbc.ch

Christian Hirzel, Partner

christian.hirzel@ifbc.ch

UNSERE KUNDENPROJEKTE

AKTUELLE THEMEN

  • 7 Prinzipien für ein wirkungsvolles Reporting

    Der monatliche (oder quartalsweise) interne Reportingprozess stellt in vielen Unternehmen einen etablierten, routinemässigen Vorgang dar. Im digitalisierten, schnelllebi...

    Weiterlesen
  • IFBC Review – 2018

    Mit unserem IFBC Review – 2018 geben wir Ihnen einen Einblick in unsere Beratungstätigkeit. Wir beschreiben ausgewählte, im vergangenen Jahr erfolgreich realisierte P...

    Weiterlesen
  • Economic Update Ausgabe 1/2019

    Die Aktienmärkte haben sich im neuen Jahr nach den Korrekturen gegen Ende des Vorjahres wieder erholt. Es besteht aber weiterhin grosse Unsicherheit, wie sich die Märkt...

    Weiterlesen