Service – Corporate Finance and M&A Advisory

CORPORATE FINANCE AND M&A ADVISORY

As a leading financial advisor, IFBC has been supporting companies for over 20 years with the implementation of corporate transactions, valuation issues, business case modelling and the structuring and placement of financial instruments. Our expert opinions provided for the board of directors and management take account of best practices and are always objective and independent.

Corporate acquisitions and sales, succession arrangements, mergers or joint ventures not only offer new opportunities but also entail risks. Thanks to our long-standing M&A experience and partnership with Globalscope, a global M&A network, we provide our customers with effective support in implementing national and international M&A transactions.

Assistance with acquisitions and sales of companies and shareholdings

M&A processes require extensive know-how and resources. Our M&A team actively guides such processes to provide decision-makers with effective support in the following areas:

  • searching for investors and buyers
  • managing the transaction process
  • appraising the company’s value
  • structuring the transaction
  • supporting the negotiations
  • developing sales arguments & decision supports
  • financing the transactions
  • cross-border transactions

Ongoing support with succession arrangements

One of the most important and difficult decisions facing a business owner is how to arrange for the company’s succession. This one-time process in the life of an entrepreneur is emotionally charged and involves major business policy decisions and economic challenges. We help our customers to search for and choose the best solution for the succession, within owner’s family or company, or through disposal to a strategic partner or financial investor.

Financial Due Diligence

In the Financial Due Diligence, we bring about enhanced financial transparency regarding the target company. The focus of the analyses is on the relevant financial value drivers, derivation of standardised earnings and balance sheet figures (including, EBITDA, EBIT, NWC) and systematic evaluation of the financial risks and opportunities of the potential acquisition. The Due Diligence findings provide a solid foundation for successful price and contract negotiations.

Post Merger Integration

The reasons for the failure of a takeover may often be found in the integration phase. To ensure fast and effective realisation of the expected synergies and successful continued management of the business model, the structures, processes and systems require optimal coordination and consistent strategic alignment. We support our customers in successfully implementing the transformation and integration process.

We are specialists in appraising the value of companies in a wide variety of industries and in solving specific valuation problems. Our services include, in particular:

Appraising the company's value

The unpredictability of a company’s future business trend and the generally limited stock of available information make the appraiser’s task especially challenging. Only an in-depth analysis of the business model and key value drivers of the appraised entity, combined with selected use of sensitivity, scenario and benchmarking analyses, can provide a meaningful basis to determine a company’s value.

Fairness Opinions in public tender offers

IFBC, which has been specially accredited by the Swiss Takeover Board as an appraiser to issue fairness opinions, has assessed the financial advisability of a number of public tender offers in recent years.

Investment appraisals

Our company-specific evaluation tools increase efficiency in the assessment of investment projects and simultaneously improve the quality of decision-making. We attach great importance to tailoring the reports on our analyses to the intended target group.

Determination of risk-adjusted cost of capital

The Weighted Average Cost Capital (WACC) has a significant impact on the appraisal of a company’s value, financial project valuation and assessment of any impairment. With IFBC’s support, prestigious listed corporations have developed a comprehensive cost of capital concept ensuring consistent treatment of the main cost of capital parameters (including currencies, Inflation and risk profile) in various areas of application.

Valuation of intangible assets

Due to the specific characteristics of intangible assets, their valuation is quite a challenge in the Purchase Price Allocation (PPA) within corporate acquisitions and IFRS impairment testing. Thanks to the large number of PPAs and impairment tests we have performed and our long-standing collaboration with audit firms, we have a great wealth of experience to share with our customers to meet their specific needs.

Appraisal of contract clauses (including in public tender offers)

Especially in public tender offers subject to requirements as to the tender price (minimum price rule and best-price rule), it is necessary to consider not only the purchase price paid but also any indirect benefits exchanged between the parties involved. All the relevant contracts between the parties must be examined for substantial indirect benefits and evaluated accordingly. IFBC has been commissioned as an appraiser of bidders for the purpose of this practice under corporate acquisition law in a number of precedent-setting takeover bids (including, Quadrant, Kuoni, Charles Vögele, Immomentum and Schmolz & Bickenbach).

IFBC has developed financing concepts for well-known companies and overseen their operationalisation and implementation with credit and capital market financing. Our clients appreciate our practical, well-targeted approach and our extensive network of relationships which we can rely on to find solutions. We assist our customers with the following, in particular:

Capital Market Transactions & Private Placements

Bond financing and private placements have several advantages over conventional bank financing: advantageous interest rates, improved creditor structure and reduced dependence on individual investors. The diversification of maturities can also have decisive advantages. As financial advisors, our main focus is on finding optimal and efficient solutions to raise capital for our customers.

Optimisation of existing credit arrangements or obtaining new ones

For the financial management of the company’s future development, it is indispensable to periodically review the financial situation in terms of limits, terms and conditions, maturities, counterparties and debt capacity. We help customers optimise and hedge their credit financing or procure new financing.

Financing concepts

A customised financing concept should promote the company’s planned strategic development and meet the needs of daily business operations. When designing financing concepts, we bear the key factors in mind, such as cost of capital, flexibility, stability and security. This ensures that the financing and capital structure, in particular, will be optimally aligned with the company’s needs. One of our central priorities is the operationalisation of financial concepts based on target values, providing a comprehensible and sustainable basis of implementation.

Rating Assessments

A company’s rating is of central importance in capital market financing. It affects the amount that can be issued and the pricing of a bond, among other things. We assess how financial developments may affect the company’s current rating (rating assessment) and help first-time issuers make a rough estimate of the expected rating.

For the sake of efficiency and risk management, company investment processes should be standardised and supported by appropriate management tools. We develop customised modeling solutions to ensure comprehensive and efficient investment project evaluation using the correct methods. We help our customers with the following aspects of financial modeling:

Developing standardised valuation tools and impairment models

For financial assessment of investments, it is advisable to use standardised models and project proposals. These models have to be aligned with the major value and cost drivers of different types of project and be capable of recognising the project risks correctly based on the cost of capital and of modeling sensitivities and scenarios. Our solutions are easy to use so that they can be deployed company-wide by different user groups.

Standardised impairment models ensure the methodically correct implementation of the impairment tests as well as efficient execution.

Creating models for development of business plans

The business plan is one of a company’s most important management tools. Alignment with the key value and cost drivers and implementation of a company-specific logic of planning are important requirements for a good planning model. Moreover, modeling scenarios and sensitivities increases the reliability of decision-making for strategic issues.

Designing and implementing a budgeting/forecasting tool

Standardised tools can provide goal-oriented support for budgeting processes, which are often inefficient. Our Excel-based solutions are being used successfully by a number of different companies. We help our customers design and implement a budgeting/forecasting tool tailored to the company and aligned with its value drivers.

Business case modeling for transactions and transformation processes

Developing a financial business case provides a basis for decision-making and helps create the necessary conditions for successful project implementation for transactions and transformation processes. Appropriate Key Performance Indicators (KPIs) let decision-makers keep track continuously of project developments, enabling them to take timely corrective action if necessary.

IFBC is a leading financial expert. We specialise in resolving typical issues using scientific approaches and the current best practice and modeling them in an objective and understandable manner. Thanks to our multifaceted experience and resulting know-how, IFBC is one of the most widely recognised partners of courts, law firms and supervisory authorities.

We issue the following types of opinions, among others:

  • arbitration and ex parte appraisals of complex financial issues
  • valuation and pricing appraisals for corporate transactions and tax issues
  • opinions assessing the financial fairness of public tender offers (fairness opinions)
  • determining damage claims
  • appraisal of contract clauses (including rights under shareholders’ agreements)

Our expert opinions meet the strictest standards of the courts, regulatory and supervisory authorities, lawyers and auditors. When preparing an expert opinion, we focus on applying the following five principles in a manner that is appropriate for the intended target group:

  • holistic analysis of the problem
  • implementation based on the latest financial theories
  • consideration of best practices
  • transparent and comprehensible presentation of the results
  • clarity in the phrasing and material statements

YOUR CONTACT PERSON

Dr. Thomas Vettiger, Managing Partner

thomas.vettiger@ifbc.ch

Prof. Dr. Rudolf Volkart, Senior Partner

rudolf.volkart@ifbc.ch

OUR PROJECTS

CURRENT TOPICS

  • IFBC Review – 2018

    With our IFBC Review – 2018 we give you an insight into our consulting activities. We describe selected projects successfully realized in the past year and let our clie...

    Read More
  • Economic Update edition 1/2019

    The stock markets recovered in the new year after the corrections at the end of the previous year. However, there is still major uncertainty as to how the markets will de...

    Read More
  • Seminar on enterprise valuation, company acquisition and sale

    Corporate transactions are an important strategic option for entrepreneurs and management. Therefore, we invite you to our seminar "Enterprise valuation, company acquisit...

    Read More

CORPORATE FINANCE AND M&A ADVISORY

Als einer der führenden Financial Advisor unterstützt IFBC Unternehmen seit über 20 Jahren bei der Realisierung von Firmentransaktionen, bei Bewertungsfragen, bei der Modellierung von Business Cases sowie bei der Strukturierung und Platzierung von Finanzierungen. Unsere Expertenmeinung zuhanden von Verwaltungsrat und Geschäftsleitung berücksichtigt Best Practice und ist stets objektiv und unabhängig.

Käufe und Verkäufe von Unternehmen, Nachfolgeregelungen, Firmenzusammenschlüsse oder Kooperationen eröffnen nicht nur neue Erfolgschancen, sondern bergen auch Risiken. Mit unserer langjährigen Erfahrung im Bereich M&A und als Partner von Globalscope, einem weltweiten M&A Netzwerk, können wir unsere Kunden bei der Umsetzung nationaler wie auch internationaler M&A Transaktionen wirkungsvoll unterstützen.

Unterstützung bei Kauf und Verkauf von Unternehmen und Beteiligungen

Transaktionsprozesse sind know-how- und ressourcenintensiv. Unser M&A-Team steuert den Transaktionsprozess aktiv und unterstützt damit die Entscheidungsträger wirkungsvoll in folgenden Bereichen:

  • Investoren- und Käufersuche
  • Führung des Transaktionsprozesses
  • Unternehmensbewertung
  • Strukturierung der Transaktion
  • Unterstützung bei den Verhandlungen
  • Erarbeitung von Argumentarien & Entscheidungsgrundlagen
  • Realisierung von Transaktionsfinanzierungen
  • Cross-Border Transaktionen

Begleitung bei Nachfolgerregelungen

Eine der wichtigsten und schwierigsten Entscheidungen eines Unternehmers ist die Regelung seiner Nachfolge. Dieser im Leben eines Unternehmers einmalige Prozess ist mit grossen emotionalen, geschäftspolitischen und ökonomischen Herausforderungen verbunden. Wir unterstützen unsere Kunden bei der Suche und der Auswahl der besten Nachfolgelösung, sei es familien- oder firmenintern oder durch den Verkauf an einen strategischen Partner oder einen Finanzinvestor.

Financial Due Diligence

Im Rahmen der Financial Due Diligence schaffen wir eine erhöhte finanzielle Transparenz zum Zielunternehmen. Im Zentrum der Analysen stehen die relevanten finanziellen Werttreiber, die Herleitung normalisierter Ergebnis- und Bilanzgrössen (u.a. EBITDA, EBIT, NWC) sowie eine systematische Beurteilung der finanziellen Chancen und Risiken zum Kaufobjekt. Die Ergebnisse der Due Diligence bilden eine fundierte Basis für erfolgreiche Preis- und Vertragsverhandlungen.

Post Merger Integration

Häufig sind die Gründe für den Misserfolg einer Übernahme in der Integrationsphase zu suchen. Damit sich erhoffte Synergien schnell und effektiv realisieren lassen und eine erfolgreiche Weiterführung des Geschäftsmodells gelingt, müssen Strukturen, Prozesse und Systeme optimal abgestimmt und strategisch konsistent ausgerichtet werden. Wir unterstützen unsere Kunden bei der erfolgreichen Umsetzung des Transformations- und Integrationsprozesses.

Wir sind Spezialisten für die Bewertung von Unternehmen verschiedenster Branchen sowie für die Lösung spezifischer bewertungstechnischer Fragestellungen. Unsere Dienstleistungen umfassen insbesondere:

Unternehmensbewertung

Die Unsicherheit bezüglich der zukünftigen Unternehmensentwicklung und die zumeist eingeschränkte Informationsbasis stellen besondere Anforderungen an den Bewertenden. Nur über eine vertiefte Auseinandersetzung mit dem Geschäftsmodell und den wesentlichen Werttreibern des zu bewertenden Unternehmens sowie dem gezielten Einsatz von Sensitivitäts-, Szenario- und Benchmarking-Analysen können aussagekräftige Entscheidungsgrundlagen zum Wert eines Unternehmens entwickelt werden.

Fairness Opinions bei öffentlichen Übernahmeangeboten

IFBC ist von der schweizerischen Übernahmekommission als besonders befähigter Bewerter für die Erstellung von Fairness Opinions anerkannt und hat in den letzten Jahren die finanzielle Angemessenheit diverser öffentlicher Übernahmeangebote beurteilt.

Investitionsrechnungen

Die von uns firmenspezifisch entwickelten Bewertungstools erhöhen die Effizienz bei der Beurteilung von Investitionsvorhaben und verbessern gleichzeitig die Entscheidungsqualität. Dabei legen wir grossen Wert auf eine adressatengerechte Aufbereitung der Analyseresultate.

Bestimmung risikogerechter Kapitalkostensätze

Der Kapitalkostensatz (WACC) hat einen wesentlichen Einfluss auf die Bewertung eines Unternehmens, die finanzwirtschaftliche Wertzumessung für ein Projekt oder die Beurteilung eines allfälligen Impairment-Bedarfs. Namhafte kotierte Unternehmen haben mit der Unterstützung von IFBC ein ganzheitliches Kapitalkostenkonzept etabliert, welches die konsistente Handhabung der wesentlichen Kapitalkosten-Parameter (u.a. Währungen, Inflation, Risikoprofil) in verschiedenen Anwendungsbereichen gewährleistet.

Bewertung immaterieller Vermögenswerte

Aufgrund ihrer spezifischen Eigenschaften stellt die Bewertung immaterieller Vermögenswerte im Rahmen der Purchase Price Allocation (PPA) bei Firmenübernahmen und beim Impairment Test gemäss IFRS eine grosse Herausforderung dar. Dank der Vielzahl durchgeführter PPAs und Impairment Tests und der langjährigen Zusammenarbeit mit Prüfgesellschaften besitzen wir einen grossen Erfahrungsschatz, den wir gezielt für unsere Kunden einsetzen.

Bewertung von Vertragsklauseln (u.a. im Rahmen öffentlicher Übernahmeangebote)

Insbesondere im Rahmen öffentlicher Übernahmeangebote mit Anforderungen an den Angebotspreis (Mindestpreisregel und Best-Price-Rule) sind neben dem bezahlten Preis auch gegenseitige Nebenleistungen zwischen den involvierten Parteien zu berücksichtigen. Dabei müssen alle relevanten Verträge zwischen den involvierten Parteien auf wesentliche Nebenleistungen durchleuchtet und bewertet werden. IFBC wurde bei der Umsetzung dieser übernahmerechtlichen Praxis als Bewerter der Anbieterin bei wegweisenden öffentlichen Übernahmeangeboten (u.a. Quadrant, Kuoni, Charles Vögele, Immomentum oder Schmolz und Bickenbach) mandatiert.

IFBC hat für namhafte Unternehmen Finanzierungskonzepte erarbeitet und deren Operationalisierung sowie die Umsetzung mittels Kredit- und Kapitalmarktfinanzierungen begleitet. Unsere Kunden schätzen unsere praxisorientierte und zielgerichtete Herangehensweise sowie unser grosses Beziehungsnetz, welches wir im Sinne der Lösungsfindung nutzen können. Wir bieten insbesondere bei folgenden Themen Unterstützung:

Kapitalmarkttransaktionen & Private Placements

Anleihensfinanzierungen und Private Placements weisen gegenüber klassischen Bankfinanzierungen verschiedene Vorteile auf. Neben der Erzielung von Zinsvorteilen lässt sich die Gläubigerstruktur verbessern und die Abhängigkeit von einzelnen Kapitalgebern reduzieren. Zudem kann die Diversifikation von Laufzeiten entscheidende Vorteile bieten. Als Financial Advisor stellen wir die für unsere Kunden optimale und effiziente Lösung für die Kapitalaufnahme ins Zentrum.

Optimierung bestehender oder Beschaffung neuer Kreditfinanzierungen

Die periodische Überprüfung der Finanzierungssituation hinsichtlich Limiten, Konditionen, Laufzeiten, Gegenparteien und der Verschuldungskapazität (Debt Capacity) ist essentiell zur finanziellen Steuerung der zukünftigen Unternehmensentwicklung. Wir unterstützen unsere Kunden bei der Optimierung und Sicherung bestehender oder der Beschaffung neuer Kreditfinanzierungen.

Finanzierungskonzepte

Ein firmenspezifisches Finanzierungskonzept hat die geplante strategische Weiterentwicklung des Unternehmens zu unterstützen und den Anforderungen des operativen Tagesgeschäfts Rechnung zu tragen. Bei der Ausgestaltung von Finanzierungskonzepten achten wir auf besonders wichtige Aspekte wie Kapitalkosten, Flexibilität, Stabilität und Sicherheit. Damit werden die Finanzierung und insbesondere die Kapitalstruktur optimal auf die Unternehmensbedürfnisse ausgerichtet. Als zentral erachten wir die Operationalisierung des Finanzierungskonzepts mittels Zielwerten. Dadurch wird die Umsetzung greifbar und nachhaltig verankert.

Rating Assessments

Im Zusammenhang mit Kapitalmarktfinanzierungen hat das Rating eines Unternehmens eine zentrale Bedeutung. Unter anderem beeinflusst dieses das mögliche Emissionsvolumen und das Pricing einer Anleihe. Wir beurteilen mögliche Auswirkungen finanzieller Entwicklungen auf ein bestehendes Unternehmens-Rating (Rating Assessment). Erstemittenten unterstützen wir bei der indikativen Abschätzung der zu erwartenden Rating-Einstufung.

Effizienz- und Risikoaspekte legen nahe, betriebliche Investitionsprozesse zu standardisieren und durch geeignete Führungsinstrumente zu stützen. Wir entwickeln für unsere Kunden massgeschneiderte Modelllösungen für eine umfassende, methodisch korrekte und effiziente Beurteilung von Investitionsprojekten. Im Rahmen des Financial Modeling unterstützen wir unsere Kunden in folgenden Bereichen:

Entwicklung standardisierter Bewertungstools und Impairmentmodelle

Zur finanziellen Beurteilung von Investitionen empfiehlt sich der Einsatz standardisierter Modelle und Projektanträge. Diese müssen auf die wesentlichen Wert- und Kostentreiber der unterschiedlichen Projektarten ausgerichtet sein, die Projektrisiken über den Kapitalkostensatz richtig erfassen sowie Sensitivitäten und Szenarien abbilden können. Unsere Lösungen stellen eine benutzerfreundliche Handhabung sicher, womit sie unternehmensweit von verschiedenen Personengruppen eingesetzt werden können.

Durch standardisierte Impairment Modelle kann sowohl die methodisch korrekte Umsetzung der Impairment Tests als auch eine effiziente Durchführung sichergestellt werden.

Erstellen von Modellen zur Entwicklung von Business Plänen

Der Business Plan ist eines der wichtigsten Führungsinstrumente eines Unternehmens. Die Ausrichtung auf die wichtigsten Wert- und Kostentreiber sowie die Implementierung einer unternehmensspezifischen Planungslogik sind zentrale Voraussetzungen für ein gutes Planungsmodell. Die Abbildung von Szenarien und Sensitivitäten erhöhen zudem die Entscheidungssicherheit bei strategischen Fragestellungen.

Konzeption und Implementierung von Budgetierungs- resp. Forecasting-Tools

Der Budgetierungsprozess ist vielfach ineffizient. Mit standardisierten Instrumenten lassen sich die Prozesse zielgerichtet unterstützen. Unsere Excel-basierten Lösungen sind erfolgreich bei verschiedenen Unternehmen im Einsatz. Wir unterstützen unsere Kunden bei der Konzeption und Implementierung eines spezifisch auf das Unternehmen und dessen Werttreiber abgestimmtes Budgetierungs- resp. Forecasting-Tools.

Abbildung von Business Cases im Rahmen von Transaktionen und Transformationsprozessen

Mit der Entwicklung eines Financial Business Cases werden die Entscheidungsgrundlagen und die Voraussetzungen für eine erfolgreiche Projektumsetzung bei Transaktionen und Transformationsprozessen geschaffen. Mit der Anwendung geeigneter Kennzahlen (Key Performance Indicators, KPI) werden die Entscheidungsträger laufend über den Projektfortschritt informiert, um frühzeitig allfällige Korrekturmassnahmen einleiten zu können.

IFBC ist einer der führenden Gutachter in finanzwirtschaftlichen Belangen. Wir sind darauf spezialisiert, falltypische Fragestellungen unter Anwendung wissenschaftlicher Ansätze und der aktuellen Best Practice objektiv zu bearbeiten und verständlich zur Darstellung zu bringen. Dank unserer vielseitigen Erfahrung und dem daraus erwachsenden Know-how gilt IFBC als einer der anerkanntesten Partner von Anwaltskanzleien, Gerichten und Aufsichtsbehörden.

Wir erstellen unter anderem:

  • Schieds- & Parteigutachten bei komplexen finanzwirtschaftlichen Fragestellungen
  • Bewertungsgutachten zur Wert- bzw. Preisfindungen bei Transaktionen und steuerrechtlichen Fragestellungen
  • Fairness Opinions über die Beurteilung der finanziellen Angemessenheit des Angebotspreises bei öffentlichen Übernahmeangeboten
  • Ermittlung von Schadensersatzansprüchen
  • Bewertung von Vertragsklauseln (z.B. Rechte aus ABV)

Die von uns erstellten Gutachten (Expert Opinions) genügen höchsten Ansprüchen seitens der Gerichte, der Regulierungs- und Aufsichtsbehörden sowie der Rechtsanwälte und Wirtschaftsprüfer. Bei der Verfassung eines Gutachtens achten wir insbesondere auf die adressatengerechte Umsetzung der folgenden fünf Prinzipien:

  • Ganzheitliche Analyse der Problemstellung
  • Umsetzung der aktuellsten finanztheoretischen Grundlagen
  • Berücksichtigung der Best Practice
  • Transparente und verständliche Darstellung der Ergebnisse
  • Klarheit in den Formulierungen und den materiellen Aussagen

IHRE ANSPRECHPARTNER

Dr. Thomas Vettiger, Managing Partner

thomas.vettiger@ifbc.ch

Prof. Dr. Rudolf Volkart, Senior Partner

rudolf.volkart@ifbc.ch

UNSERE KUNDENPROJEKTE

AKTUELLE THEMEN

  • IFBC Review – 2018

    Mit unserem IFBC Review – 2018 geben wir Ihnen einen Einblick in unsere Beratungstätigkeit. Wir beschreiben ausgewählte, im vergangenen Jahr erfolgreich realisierte P...

    Weiterlesen
  • Economic Update Ausgabe 1/2019

    Die Aktienmärkte haben sich im neuen Jahr nach den Korrekturen gegen Ende des Vorjahres wieder erholt. Es besteht aber weiterhin grosse Unsicherheit, wie sich die Märkt...

    Weiterlesen
  • Bewertungsfragen im Rahmen der Steuerreform (STAF)

    Das Schweizer Stimmvolk wird am 19. Mai 2019 über die Steuerreform und die AHV-Finanzierung (STAF) abstimmen. Das Ziel der Steuerreform ist unter anderem die Abschaffung...

    Weiterlesen